WhatsApp is an App designed to send and receive messages, photos, and videos to their existing contacts using an Internet connection. WhatsApp enables users to create groups, which allows messages to be sent to multiple contacts at the same time.
Staying Safe on WhatsApp
Control who sees your information
You can set your last seen, profile photo and/or status to the following options:
Everyone: Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will be available to all WhatsApp users.
My Contacts: Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will be available to your contacts from your address book only.
Nobody: Your last seen, profile photo and/or status will not be available to anyone.
If you uncheck Read receipts, you will not send read receipts. You will also not be able to see other users' read receipts.
Note: Read Receipts are always sent for group chats, even if you turn off the option in your privacy settings.
For more safety advice please visit the WhatsApp website.
We would also advise visiting the Safer Internet website, which has guides and useful information regarding safety on a range of Social Media Apps.